SCPS Announces 2022 School Teachers of the Year

WESTOVER, MD, March 3, 2022 – Somerset County Public Schools (SCPS) is pleased to announce the District’s 2022 School Teachers of the Year, representing eight of the county’s nine public schools.
Carter G. Woodson Elementary School:    
Mrs. Jennifer Carey, First Grade Teacher
Crisfield Academy & High School:    
Ms. Vestina Davis, Social Studies Teacher  
Deal Island Elementary School:     
Mrs. Casey Neves, Special Education Teacher    
Greenwood Elementary School: 
Ms. Nicole Biser, Second Grade Teacher
Princess Anne Elementary School: 
Mrs. Taylar Mowery, Kindergarten Teacher
Somerset County Technical High School: 
Mr. John Ward, Automotive Program Instructor
Somerset Intermediate School: 
Mrs. Tania Cunningham-Raycrow, Special Education Teacher
Washington Academy & High School: 
Ms. Valerie Bradshaw, Special Education Teacher
Since its inception in Somerset 35 years ago, SCPS has celebrated the tradition of selecting and honoring exceptional teachers from each school through the Teacher of the Year Program. School Teacher of the Year candidates are selected through a collaborative process where nominations are sought from students, families, school staff and members of the community. Candidates are evaluated through a competitive process by a group of their colleagues to determine the school’s next Teacher of the Year.
School Teachers of the Year are now competing for the Elementary, and Secondary School Teacher of the Year titles with assistance from an external panel of judges selected from the community. The Elementary or Secondary School Teacher of the Year with the highest composite score from written and interview evaluations is awarded the Somerset County Teacher of the Year title, continuing on to compete at the state-level as Somerset’s candidate for Maryland School Teacher of the Year. 
Somerset County Public Schools will announce the 2022 Elementary, Secondary and Overall Somerset Teacher of the Year at the 2022 Teacher of the Year Banquet on Friday, April 8 at Somerset County Technical High School. 

Carter G. Woodson Elementary School’s 2022 Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Jennifer Carey (L) with Principal, Mrs. Liz Berry (R). 
Crisfield Academy & High School’s 2022 Teacher of the Year, Ms. Vestina Davis
Deal Island Elementary School’s 2022 Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Casey Neves
Greenwood Elementary School Principal, Mrs. Kirstin Gibson (L) with 2022 Teacher of the Year, Ms. Nicole Biser (R).
Princess Anne Elementary School Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Taylar Mowery (center) at the school announcement assembly, joined by Assistant Principal, Ms. Christina South (L), PAES Wildcat (R) and Principal, Dr. Terra Taylor (on screen) who joined the celebration virtually from an out of state conference 

2022 Somerset County Technical High School Teacher of the Year, Mr. John Ward (R) with Principal, Mrs. Cortney Monar (L).
2022 Somerset Intermediate School Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Tania Cunningham-Raycrow
(L-R) 2022 Washington Academy & High School Teacher of the Year, Ms. Valerie Bradshaw, with Principal, Mrs. Chantal Russum, Assistant Principal, Ms. Sharon Richards and WAHS Teacher of the Year Committee Chair, Mr. Greg Lasinski.