SCPS Announces 2021 School Teachers of the Year

WESTOVER, MD, April 1, 2021 – Somerset County Public Schools (SCPS) is pleased to announce the District’s 2021 School Teachers of the Year, representing eight of the county’s nine public schools.
Carter G. Woodson Elementary School:
Mr. Josh Davis, Fourth Grade Teacher
Crisfield Academy & High School:
Mr. Logan Webster, Social Studies Teacher
Deal Island Elementary School:
Ms. Theresa O’Neal, Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Greenwood Elementary School:
Ms. Jennifer Nicolas, Second Grade Teacher
Princess Anne Elementary School:
Ms. Kristen Davis, Media Specialist Teacher
Somerset County Technical High School:
Mr. Christopher Parke, IT Networking Teacher
Somerset Intermediate School:
Ms. Randi Merritt, English/Language Arts & Social Studies Teacher
Washington Academy & High School:
Mr. Stephen Smith, History Teacher
Since its inception in Somerset 34 years ago, SCPS has celebrated the tradition of selecting and honoring exceptional teachers from each school through the Teacher of the Year Program. School Teacher of the Year candidates are selected through a collaborative process where nominations are sought from students, families, school staff and members of the community. School principals screen all nominees to determine whether the Maryland State Teacher of the Year eligibility criteria is met. When qualified teachers accept their nominations, candidates submit a written essay, which is then evaluated and scored by a group of their colleagues to determine the next School Teachers of the Year.
Somerset County’s 2021 School Teachers of the Year are currently competing for the Somerset Elementary School Teacher of the Year & Secondary School Teacher of the Year titles using an external panel of judges selected from the community. The Elementary or Secondary School Teacher of the Year with the highest composite score is awarded the Somerset County Teacher of the Year title, continuing on to compete at the state-level as Somerset’s candidate for Maryland School Teacher of the Year.
Somerset County Public Schools will announce the 2021 Elementary, Secondary and Overall District Teacher of the Year in an upcoming virtual event broadcast to the District’s YouTube channel on Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. This public event can be viewed live at
josh davis toy
Assistant Principals Ms. April Schaub (Right) and Mr. Jensen Long (Left) present Mr. Josh Davis (Center) with gifts after being named Carter G. Woodson Elementary School’s 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year.
logan webster toy
Mr. Logan Webster (Right) receives a surprise delivery of balloons from his principal, Mr. Tony Bevilacqua (Left) & colleagues after learning he is Crisfield Academy & High School’s 2021-2022 Teacher of the year.
theresa oneal DIS toy
Deal Island Elementary’s 2021-2022 Teacher of the year, Ms. Theresa O’Neal, teaches her pre-kindergarten class.
Jennifer nicolas GES toy
Ms. Jennifer Nicolas (Center) receives gifts from her Principal, Ms. Ashley Walters (Left), Assistant Principal, Mr. David Arnold (Back) and Assistant Principal, Dr. Dot Bell-Jackson (Right) after being named Greenwood Elementary School’s 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year.
kristen davis paes toy
Ms. Kristen Davis poses for a photo with her gifts after being named Princess Anne Elementary School’s 2021-2022 Teacher of the year.
chris parke schts toy
School Principal, Mr. Keith O’Neil (Left) and newly named Somerset County Technical High School Teacher of the Year, Mr. Christopher Parke (Right) pose for a photo captured by drone outside of the school.
randi merritt sis toy
Somerset Intermediate Principal, Ms. Liz Berry (Right) presents 2021-2022 Somerset Intermediate Teacher of the Year, Ms. Randi Merritt (Left) with a bouquet of flowers.
stephen smith WAHS toy
2021-2022 Washington Academy & High School Teacher of the Year, Mr. Stephen Smith (Right) poses for a photo with his principal, Ms. Chantal Russum (Left).